Tony Ray-Jones and Martin Parr, "Only in England"

Picture
Martin Parr, a British photographer, recently blogged that photography was the most democratic art form of our time.  I wholeheartedly agree, and it is a pretty neat thought.  My favorite photographer has long been Elliot Erwitt.  For me, his photography brings out the quirks and humor in people and highlight a lightness in our everyday lives.  

I went to the Only in England exhibit at the National Science Museum in London yesterday.  It features the work of Tony Ray-Jones and Martin Parr.  I loved it -- both photographers are candid documentary style, and reminded me of Erwitt.

Ray-Jones, although not well-known, was an influential British photographer.  BBC News has said that he was "arguably the person who shaped a generation of British photographers."  The featured photographs are from his time spent shooting in England from 1966-1969.  He was fascinated with British traditions and lifestyle -- he also thought that it was dying quickly.  So, he tried to capture these on film before Britain became 'too Americanized.'  What I found fascinating in his pictures was how he captured the completely mundane and mildly pathetic lives of people, and yet highlighted its quirkiness -- he found some humor and personality in his prosaic scenes.  Unfortunately, Ray-Jones died at age 31 from leukemia.

Martin Parr's work, though, was apparently influenced by Ray-Jones.  Parr seemed more formal to me -- his photos were candid, yet seemed to have a more professional composition than Ray-Jones.  On a technical note, they were also bigger.  Many of the photos featured from him were from his work in a small British community (Hebden, I think it was called?) during the 1970s.  He also reprinted several of Ray-Jones's photos from the 1960s, which are featured in the back of the exhibit.  It was a really neat mixture of the two photographers' work.  I enjoyed Martin Parr's style, yet the subject matter captured in Ray-Jones's photos, so the mixture of the two in Parr's reprints were my favorite part.

A little culture for the day, and a few of my favorites, to remember:


Picture
(Above -- Tony Ray-Jones)







One of my favorites from Tony Ray-Jones.  And a quote:

"Photography can be a mirror and reflect life as it is, but I also think it is possible to walk, like Alice, through the looking glass and find another world with the camera."

Picture
(Above -- Martin Parr)








The photo to the right was one of my favorites, although the quality here is not fantastic. And a Martin Parr quote:

"With photography, I like to create fiction out of reality.  I try and do this by taking society's natural prejudices and giving them a twist." 

And FINALLY, just to bring this full circle.  Some quotes from the devotional today about everyday life seem perfectly in sync with the themes behind both Ray-Jones and Parr photography.  Good to think about. 

"The vision of the Angel of the Lord came to Moses (Exodus 3:1-2) while he was involved in his everyday work.  That is exactly where the Lord delights in giving His revelations.  He seeks a man traveling an ordinary road, and 'suddenly a light from heaven' (Acts 9:3) shines on him.  And a 'stairway resting on the earth' (Gen. 28:12) can reach from the marketplace to heaven, transforming a life from one of drudgery to one of grace. [...] Some Christians think they must always be on the mountaintop of extraordinary joy and revelation, but this is not God's way. Those high spiritual times and wonderful communication with the unseen world are not promised to us, but a daily life of communion with Him is.  And it is enough for us..."

A good prayer for today: "Beloved Father, help me to expect you as I travel the ordinary road of life. I am not asking for sensational experiences.  Fellowship with me through my everyday work and service, and be my companion when I take an ordinary journey.  And let my humble life be transformed by Your presence."

All excerpts from Streams in the Desert, from the October 22nd devotional.  By L.B. Cowan and edited by Jim Reimann.



Leave a Reply.